Building Community Spirit with Asure

Late last year people kept knocking on my door; and when I opened it there would be another one of my neighbours offering me a bowl of homemade asure (a-sure-ray).

Asure

Asure

This happened a lot and I am very happy about it, because #asure is possibly my favourite Turkish dish.
There are many stories about its origin, but I like the idea that it was what #Noah fed to all to sustain during the great flood. By the way, did you know Noah’s Ark pitched up on a mountain in Turkey once the floods receded? I looked carefully and Mr.Crowe did not have any asure in the recent movie. If he had, maybe everyone would have got along better.

There are many different ways to make it and I have been most diligent in trying the results of as many as possible. I can confidently say that Gönül’s is the best! If you would like her #recipe just leave a comment to that effect.

Give it a try and then go and delight your neighbours!

Leave a comment